Summer: A Time to relax, re-invent, re-charge…

I have been neglecting this blog. Oops.

Truth be told, I’ve been consumed with work for my internship in Educational Leadership through SUNY Stony Brook and the Smithtown Teachers’ Center. I’ve had the opportunity to work closely with various administrators in my district and I’m learning a lot about what it means to be a so-called “educational leader.” Despite the seemingly incredible work load, I am having a good time with it.

The end of the year snuck up on me, however. I still feel a little odd about not having to do any schoolwork at night, and this weekend’s lack of paper-grading was somewhat surreal. It has been a long year.

I’m currently participating in one of the College Board’s  Summer Institutes for teachers of AP Literature & Comp. Yes, I’ll be teaching AP for the first time next year, and I’m pretty excited about it! I wish I could say that sitting through almost seven hours of lecture a day was academically stimulating…but I don’t want to tell a lie! At least there are only two more days left, and the coffee is free!

July is suddenly upon us; this is my month to work on schoolwork and re-charge my lessons for next year. I say this because I have until August 4th to complete my internship hours, and I’ll be running my youth cheer camp starting next week. Yes, I’m still in work mode. As I said earlier, it has been a long (and busy) year. I think I’m going to give myself a full three weeks in August to relax and not think about school “too much.”

And people say that teachers “have summers off.” Ha!

Leave a Reply

