2009 in review

I haven’t been very good about maintaining this blog. Hopefully that’s something I can change for 2010. I’m not really “into” making New Year’s Resolutions, but there is something about the idea of a new beginning that almost feels like a natural time to reset.

2009 was good to me. I finished up my Advanced Graduate Certificate program in Educational Leadership and passed my School District Leader exam. It was tough! I had to take a train into a Pearson testing center in Manhattan and literally spend most of the morning and afternoon sitting at a computer answering extremely difficult multiple choice questions and penning essays on a word processor without a spell checker! Once the exam was finally over, my brain felt kind of fried.

Now that this is all over, I think I’m going to stay in the classroom for at least a few more years. Many of my colleagues seemed interested to go for an administrative position early on, but I think that most of us have opted to take a few more years to think about it. The program was extremely valuable in my eyes, but there is something about teaching that I would certainly miss if I made the jump to “the other side.”

I started teaching two new classes this year: AP Literature and Composition and Journalism and Media Studies (which includes publication of The Bull’s Eye, our  school newspaper). I must admit that I feel very comfortable in that Journalism class, but AP Lit is challenging (challenging in a good way, though!)

I have a few professional development activities lined up for 2010. Although it is very far away at this point, I’m planning on attending the Long Island ASCD Spring Conference in May, which is a workshop with Mike Schmoker.

I don’t know if I have any readers out there, But if I do, I wish you all the best in 2010!

Leave a Reply

